ASB Premiership Standings

Grand Final


Sun 16 Mar, 2.35pm, 2014
Kiwitea St, Sandringham

2013/14 ASBP Media Guide

2013/14 ASBP Draw

Play by Play / Wrap


AC News WU News WF News HB News YHM News TW News CU News OU News

Canterbury United

Waitakere United


NZFC - Round 9, English Park,  Sunday 20 January 2008, 4pm


Rhodri Payne 90+1

Jason Hayne 11, 79
Benjamin Totori 36, 78
Danny Hay 43
Jonathan Perry 56
Daniel Koprivcic 70
Commins Menapi 85  
Allan Pearce 88



Halftime: 0 - 3                   Referee: Antony Riley                                Crowd: 250


Waitakere add nine goal insult to injured Canterbury

by Gavin Searle at English Park

Mchael O'Keefe faced a tough introduction to the NZFC after replacing injured Adam Highfield. Photo: Kevin Clarke say when you are down at the bottom nothing seems to go you way and Canterbury United will know the feeling after suffering a record loss 9 - 1 at the hands of a red-hot Waitakere United.

As if things werent bad enough, the bottom-placed Dragons will also go into the next round without their skipper Bill Robertson who received two yellow cards and their ever-present keeper, Adam Highfield.

Highfield is likely to be sidelined for some time after being taken to hospital with a suspected fracture to his eye socket which is likely to require surgery.

Canterbury started the game in a positive mood and with a little luck could have taken the lead before Waitakere opened the scoring through Jason Hayne in the 11th minute.

Benjamin Totori added a second after 35 minutes and even when Danny Hay stabbed home a third just before the break their was little hint that the floodgates were about to open in such dramatic fashion.

Jason Hayne (right) opens the scoring. Photo Kevin Clarke came off seven minutes into the second half and was replaced by New Zealand U-17 international, Michael O'Keeffe. The young custodian was quickly in action, called on to make the first of several fine saves in his debut NZFC game.

Jonathan Perry added a fourth before the hour mark was reached and then a pivotal and somewhat hash second yellow to Robertson prevented any chance of even limiting the damage as Waitakere enjoyed the man advantage to rack up five more goals in the final twenty three minutes

With goals to Daniel Koprivcic, Commins Menapi, Allan Pearce and a second each for Totori and Hayne rounding out a record score, Waitakere now enter next weeks highly anticipated battle of Auckland on the back of six straight wins.

Rhodri Payne grabbed a goal back for Canterbury in added time but it was scant consolation, nor the fact that it was the NZFCs 999th league goal.
Benjamin Totori (left) grabbed a share of teh golden boot lead with a double. Kevin Clarke United coach, Chris Milicich, was happy with the final score but disappointed that Canterbury scored.

"Believe me there will be words said about that later."

"Canterbury will be hurting with the result today but they are not a bad side. To their credit they took the game to us from the opening whistle and did not sit back and defend. Even behind they tried to get forward whenever possible".

"They are a young side and will have learnt from the hurt today", added the Waitakere coach.

Photos: Kevin Clarke  


Team Sheet

Canterbury United


Waitakere United

1. Adam Highfield (gk) out 52

1. Richard Gillespie (gk)

2. Glenn Squire

16. Neil Emblen

4. Bill Robertson (capt)

2. Jonathan Perry

5. Michael Bothwell

5. Danny Hay (capt) out 68

6. Garry McDermott

33. Paul Seaman

11. Tom Lancaster out 64

14. Hoani Edwards out 59

15. Rhodri Payne

10. Allan Pearce

16. Yusaku Okubo

13. Daniel Kopeivcic out 80

17. Ryan Faichnie

7. Jason Hayne

18. Blair Duncan

9. Benjamin Totori

23. Gareth Turnbull

15. Christopher Bale



7. Michael Fifii

22. Simon Eaddy (rgk)

9. David Walker

24. Tim Meyers

12. Jeremy Wild

21. Jason Rowley in 68

21. Sam Jasper in 64

4. Matthew Cuneen in 80

22. Michael O'Keeffe (rgk) in 52

8.Commins Menapi in 59


=yellow card

=2 yellow cards

= red card


Play by Play

Welcome to English Park were Canterbury United starting line-up sees several changes with Yusku Okubo, Blair Duncan and Gareth Turnbull, with Dave Walker Jeremy Wild and Sam Jasper warming the bench. Waitakere has one late change with Danny Hay, who was holidaying in the South Island named on the starting eleven after orginally not named on the playing squad.   

0 min

We are under way under sunny conditions

2 mins

Benjamin Totori allowed to run across the goal face but shot cleared 

5 mins

Canterbury freekick in front of goal but Rhodri Payne drilled ball into wall

7 mins

Great save from Richard Gillespie prevent Canterbury taking the lead with Payne heading home another freekick

11 mins

GOAL!!!! 0 - 1 Waitakere take lead as Jason Hayne fires home after shot from Totori blocked

20 mins

Totori on the ball allowed to run into area and pulls ball back from goal line with Canterbury awarded a freekick after keeper, Adam Highfield fouled 

24 mins

Yellow Card Glenn Squires Canterbury first into the book of referee Antony Riley

35 mins

Totori does weel to bring ball down but shots wide

36 mins

GOAL!! 0 - 2 No mistake this time as great finsh from Totori doubles Waitakere's lead

39 mins

Long range shot by Allan Pearce just wide

42 mins

Danny Hay heads on to bar from freekick cleared away for corner

43 mins

GOAL!!! 0 - 3 From the resulting corner Hay forces ball over line

45 mins

Half time with Waitakere well in control with the home side again not making the most of their scoring chances

46 mins

Play under way again with no changes to either side 

49 mins

Sub Highfield off injuried replaced by Michael O'Keeffe with the NZ Under 17 rep making his NZFC debut  

56 mins

GOAL 0 - 4!!!! Jonathan Perry increases Waitakere lead  

59 min

Sub. Hoani Edwards replaced by Commins Menapi for Waitakere

64 mins

Sub. Tom Lancaster replaced by Sam Jasper for Canterbury

67 mins

RED CARD!!! Canterbury down to ten men after their captain Bill Robertson receives his second yellow card for a trip

68 mins

SUB. Hay replaced by Jason Rowley

70 mins

GOAL!!! 0 - 5 Daniel Koprivcic makes it five for Watakere

78 mins

GOAL!!! 0 - 6 Great finish by Totori to claim adouble

79 mins

GOAL!!! 0 - 7 Hayne also a scores double to make it seven

80 mins

GOAL!!!! 0 - 8 Commins Menapi continues the one way scoreline  

88 mins

GOAL!!!! 0 - 9 Allan Peace gets in on the goal act

90 mins

4 mins added time

90 + 1

GOAL!!! 1 - 9 Payne pulls a goal back for Canterbury

Full Time 1 - 9 One one traffic as Waitakere score biggest win in NZFC history. Report and photos to follow