ASB Premiership Standings

Grand Final


Sun 16 Mar, 2.35pm, 2014
Kiwitea St, Sandringham

2013/14 ASBP Media Guide

2013/14 ASBP Draw

Round 12 - Wellington v Auckland

Squad List

Time running out for Team Wellington

By NZF Staff Writer / 

WELLINGTON - Team Wellington gets a second bite at the playoff cherry when they host Auckland City at David Farrington Park on Sunday.

Beaten 3-2 in a dramatic clash with the navy blues on Waitangi Day, Wellington have run out of wriggle room in pursuit of Canterbury United and a coveted playoff position.

Coach Matt Calcott was delighted with his team's brave showing at Kiwitea Street despite going down to ten men when skipper Adam McGeorge was sent off on 34 minutes.

But with the capital men trailing Canterbury by six points with just three games remaining, Wellington can't afford any more hard luck stories.

By contrast, the visitors have their own issues to sort through.

Conceding the first goal has become an unwelcome habit for Auckland City this season, as has their profligacy in front of goal.

Top scorer Manel Exposito has six goals from ten games this season, but he isn't threatening the ASB Premiership Golden Boot race where Waitakere United's Roy Krishna (12) and Hawke's Bay United's Sean Lovemore (10) have hit double figures.

With Wellington backed into a corner and Auckland's lack of title winning firepower, not to mention a defensive fragility exposed again on Wednesday, could mean Sunday's game could go the way of the Waitangi Day re-match could turn into another thriller.

Auckland City haven't won in Wellington since the playoffs first leg in 2010/11 season when they won 2-0 courtesy of goals by Exposito and Luis Corrales.

To add further intrigue, Corrales transferred back to Team Wellington, his first club in the ASB Premiership, for family reasons.

Such is Corrales affinity with the navy blues, he chose to sit out the Waitangi Day game, but is likely to feature prominently in the return.

The addition of Corrales, coupled with the impressive Henry Fa'arodo and Cory Chettleburgh, mean Wellington are in no shortage of attacking weapons themselves.

Defensively they have shored up their defence with goalkeeper Scott Basalaj in outstanding form this year, conceding only two goals in four games.

Canterbury's trip to Hawke's Bay United carries extra spice with the Bay chasing a win that will give them an historic playoff berth, meaning should the Dragons lose and Wellington win, the points spread heading into the final two matches of the regular season will be just three between fourth and fifth place.

For that to eventuate, Team Wellington must replicate their outstanding form from last season when they beat Auckland City 4-1 over two legs in the playoffs - the question is, can they do it?



Head to Head

Team Wellington

Auckland City


Alec SOLOMONS returns from suspension after sitting out Wednesday’s match. Luis CORRALES could make an emotional return against a club he spent three seasons with.

Alex FENERIDIS returns to the squad after sitting out the Waitangi Day Round 5 Catch Up match at Kiwitea Street on Wednesday.


Adam McGEORGE is suspended after his red card on Waitangi Day’s Round 5 Catch Up match at Kiwitea Street. Tom DOYLE is suspended.

Dan SARIC drops out of the Match Day squad.


Scott BASALAJ has conceded just two goals in 360 minutes of action in 2013.

James PRITCHETT is bracketed for inclusion.

Vital Stats:

Team Wellington is undefeated at home to Auckland City since the semi-final 1st leg of season 2010/11. They have won one and drawn one at home to Auckland City since then.

Auckland City’s last win over Team Wellington in the capital was back in 2011. Ivan VICELICH rides a suspension tight rope having picked up three cautions this season. This is a must win game for the navy blues who trail Waitakere United by seven points in the race for the minor premiership.


Squad List

 Team Wellington

ASB Premiership - Round 12
David Farrington Park, Wellington

Auckland City 

Sunday 10 February, 2013 
Kickoff: 4pm

1- Scott BASALAJ (GK)

1- Jacob SPOONLEY (GK)


2- Simon ARMS

4- Darren CHERITON

3- Takuya IWATA

7- Wiremu PATRICK



8- Chris BALE

10- Henry FA'ARODO


11- Adam THOMAS

10- Gustavo Souto SAMPEDRO

13- Karl WHALEN

11- Daniel KOPRIVCIC

14- Dominic ROWE

12- Tamati WILLIAMS (GK)



20- Luke ROWE


21- Justin GULLEY

15- Ivan VICELICH (c)

22- Hamish WATSON

16- Albert RIERA

23- Tom BISS

17- Pedro Santa Cecilia GARCIA


20- Emiliano TADE

25- Daniel CLARKE (GK)

21- David BROWNE

22- Andrew MILNE

25- Dean LAUSEV