ASB Premiership Standings

Grand Final


Sun 16 Mar, 2.35pm, 2014
Kiwitea St, Sandringham

2013/14 ASBP Media Guide

2013/14 ASBP Draw

Round 4 Wellington v Manawatu

Squad List

"Manawatu a pretty tough challenge" - Calcott

By Cameron Russell / 

WELLINGTON - Team Wellington play host to Youngheart Manawatu this Sunday in a game that has both sides form going in opposite directions.

Wellington started the season with back to back losses but picked up their first points of the season last weekend winning away at Waikato 4-1.

In contrast, Manawatu won their first game, but have gone on to lose the last two and were swept aside 5-0 last week by defending champions Waitakere United.

“We’ve just got to work harder,” said Manawatu coach Stu Jacobs.

“We have to come in each week and make sure we do the right things and hopefully this weekend against Team Wellington we can play a bit better.”

Manawatu last beat Wellington three years ago, which was back when Jacobs’ was on the other side coaching Wellington.

“We consider they’ve got 7 or 8 of the Phoenix academy players who are training full-time, I kind of wouldn’t expect anything less [than a challenge] and we’ll be expecting a pretty torrid time but hopefully we can get one back,” says Jacobs looking ahead to the match.

Youngheart’s Vanuatu striker Seule Soromon should also be looking forward to the trip down State Highway One.

Soromon scored all four goals when Manawatu soundly beat the side from the Capital 4-0 in the opening round back in 2009.

Wellington not only picked up their first points last week, but also scored their first goal of the season and coach Matt Calcott looks to build from that.

“We just need to get a level of improvement every week,” says Calcott.

“It was a good result, but we had some pretty disappointing results in the first two weeks, we need to kick on and get as many points as we can before Christmas.”

Calcott will be happy his side is starting to come together, with last week’s three scorers all new additions to the club and Henry Fa’arodo putting his visa troubles behind him.

Wellington striker Hamish Watson scored twice last week, and the former Hawke's Bay United man is now averaging a goal every two games in the ASB premiership after netting eight goals in 16 appearances.

The home side approach the games as favourites, but Calcott expects his side to be tested and isn’t thinking about Youngheart Manawatu’s last game.

“We all know that the Waitakere’s and the Auckland’s are good sides and have some firepower, so I think a lot of clubs are going to struggle against those sides,” Calcott says.

“Manawatu is a completely different side from last year and we’ll have a pretty tough challenge coming up on Sunday.”

Team Wellington returns to the David Farrington Park this Sunday in-between games at Westpac stadium, with the match kicking-off at 2pm.


Head to Head

Team Wellington

YoungHeart Manawatu


Henry FA’ARODO’s visa woes are behind him as he readies for his second appearance of the season for the capital men.



Wiremu PATRICK and Dominic ROWE drop out of the squad

Matt KENNEDY drops out of the squad otherwise it is the group that were soundly beaten by Waitakere United at Memorial Park last Sunday.


Hamish WATSON averages a goal every two games in the ASB Premiership with the former Hawke’s Bay United player now on 16 appearances and eight goals netted.

Suele SOROMON holds the record for most goals scored by an individual in a single Wellington v Manawatu match.

Vital Stats:

The last time Wellington lost at home to Manawatu, current YoungHeart coach Stu JACOBS was in charge.

Manawatu has not beaten Team Wellington for three years, their last success a 4-0 away win when Suele SOROMON bagged all four of the goals for the Palmerstonians.


Squad List

 Team Wellington

ASB Premiership - Round 4,
David Farrington Park, Wellington

YoungHeart Manawatu 

Sunday 25 November, 2012 
Kickoff: 2pm

1- Scott BASALAJ (GK)

1- Matt BORREN (GK)



3- Jamie DUNCAN


5- Andreas DAMGAARD


8- Adam McGEORGE (c)



8- Nathan COOKSLEY

10- Henry FA'ARODO

9- Seule SOROMON

11- Karsten VIBORG

10- Adam COWAN

13- Karl WHALEN


18- Tom DOYLE

14- Tyson BRANDT

19- Tobias BERTSCH

17- Jordan MARTENS

20- Luke ROWE

18- Dale HIGHAM

22- Hamish WATSON

19- Ben WILKES (GK)

23- Tom BISS



22- Grant ROBSON

25- Will JONES (GK)

23- Lewis CUMBER