ASB Premiership Standings

Grand Final


Sun 16 Mar, 2.35pm, 2014
Kiwitea St, Sandringham

2013/14 ASBP Media Guide

2013/14 ASBP Draw

Round 1 - Wellington v Otago

Squad List

Adversaries ready for premiership bow

By Cameron Russell / 

WELLINGTON - Adversaries Matt Calcott and Richard Murray make their ASB Premiership coaching debuts when Team Wellington welcomes Otago United to David Farrington Park on Sunday.

Team Wellington's Matt Calcott and Otago United's Richard Murray had other things on their mind he last summer when Team Wellington thrashed Otago 5-0.

Since then the two clubs have both gone through mass overhauls during the off-season, with both new coaches tinkering with their squads for the upcoming season.

When asked about his first season in charge, Matt Calcott believes he is up to the task. "I have had seven years of fulltime football coaching and have dealt with franchise players like we have here in the past. With Wellington, playoffs is always the expectation and something we should look to achieve"

Wellington born Calcott takes charge over from Stu Jacobs who has moved onto Youngheart Manawatu after four years in charge of Team Wellington. Calcott wasn’t afraid to get involved in the transfer market, bringing in seven players from the Junior All Whites world cup squad including captain Nick Branch who leaves Waikato FC in search of more game time.

James Musa, who played alongside Branch’s at the FIFA U-20 World Cup in Colombia, is the latest signing to join Team Wellington after being confirmed on Thursday.

Musa returns to Wellington after trailing with Bradford City in England, but he was unable to earn a contract. "Musa could feature this weekend if the paper work surrounding the transfer is completed in time." said Calcott.

Despite this youthful outlook, Matt Calcott believes he has plenty of squad depth and competition for places.

"I’m happy with the squad, we have signed some of the countries top talent" said Calcott. "Although we’ve got some young guys, they do have plenty of football experience in the New Zealand leagues, as well as the junior international stage. We also have a good mix of players in their late 20s and early 30s".

Tyson Holmes who arrived from Queensland State League side Sunshine Coast FC will also attract plenty of attention. The striker helped his former side win three titles in four years, and was named the league’s MVP for the past three seasons (2009, 2010, 2011).

Otago United will be hoping that Richard Murray can bring some success to the club in his first year in charge. The 36 year old school teacher, who has raised up through the ranks as a youth coach at the club, takes over an Otago side that has never finished in the top half of the table.

Richard Murray’s first goal will be to make Otago United more competitive this season . "We want to be a hard working side, one that is tough to breakdown, but mainly we just want to move forward and improve" said Murray.

Murray faces a tough challenge first up in a trip to Wellington. From a previous 19 meetings, Otago has only beaten Team Wellington three times. "It will be a challenge," stated Murray, "We expect a quick, nice brand of football, but it will give us a better idea of what position we are in for the season".

Sticking to local recruitment, United will be relying on a core foundation of players from around the Otago region as a number players join the team from Caversham and Dunedin Technical.

Much like this weekends opponents, Otago United does have a young edge to their side lead by former Yellow Fever scholarship winner Tristan Prattley who is closing in on 50 appearances for the club.

Murray said "I would have liked a little more experience in the squad, but I believe I have picked the cream of crop from players down here. Its’ tough as we are very isolated down here in Dunedin, so I would have liked a few more weeks of pre-season. Overall though, I am happy with the way the squad has shaped up and we‘ve had no last minute injury knocks".

Action gets underway from Dave Farrington Park at 2.30pm on Sunday.


Head to Head

Team Wellington

Otago United


Tim SCHAEFFERS, Nick BRANCH (Waikato FC), Michael WHITE (YoungHeart Manawatu), Dakota LUCAS (Waitakere United - pending), Jack HOBSON-McVEIGH (Waitakere United).

Darren OVERTON (Canterbury United), Jude FITZPATRICK (Miramar Rangers), Zach RATHBONE (University), Matt JOY (Dunedin Technical), Craig FERGUSON (Southland Spirit), Michael CUNNINGHAM (Roslyn Wakari), Seamus RYDER (Caversham).


Jamie O'CONNOR (Manawatu), Hicham KAMRI, John SUTHERLAND, Tyler LISSETTE (Waikato FC), Emiliano TADE (Auckland City), Jesse SMITH (Waikato FC), Scott ROBSON (Newcastle, Australia).

Adam HIGHFIELD (Canterbury United), Matt THOMAS (Canterbury United), Chris ANDERSON, Aaron BURGESS, Cam BURNS, Andy COBURN, Curtis DAY, James GOVAN, Hayden GUNN, Dave HAYMAN, Tim HORNER, Nathan KNOX, Liam LOCKHART, James REICHWEIN, Alistair RICKBY, Phil RUGGLES, Tom SADD, Paul SEAMAN, James WATSON.


New Team Wellington head coach Matt CALCOTT could hand former Waitakere United and New Zealand U-20 forward Dakota LUCAS his debut for the capital men on Sunday depending on the resolution of his ongoing transfer tussle. LUCAS is joined by Junior All Whites captain Nick BRANCH who joins the CALCOTT revolution from Waikato FC. Goalkeeper Phil IMRAY is named pending his transfer from the Wellington Phoenix.

New coach Richard MURRAY has taken a local approach with the core of his squad comprised of players from the Dunedin Technical and Caversham clubs. Former Canterbury United player Darren OVERTON shapes up as a key figure with Tristan PRATTLEY and Seamus RYDER eager to stake their claim for higher honours.

Vital Stats:

Team Wellington won last season’s corresponding home fixture 5-0 thanks to goals courtesy of a Hicham KAMRI double, John SUTHERLAND, Darren CHERITON and Emiliano TADE.

Otago United lost both showdowns with Team Wellington last season. Otago United’s 0-5 loss in the capital came after a 0-3 defeat in Dunedin.


Squad List

 Team Wellington

ASB Premiership - Round 1
David Farrington Park, Wellington

Otago United  

Sunday 23 October, 2011 

1- Phil IMRAY* (GK)

1- Callum FLAWS (GK)


3- Tristan PRATTLEY

3- Jamie DUNCAN


4- Michael EAGAR

5- Matt JOY

5- Nick BRANCH

6- Morgan DAY

6- Duncan CHERITON

8- Seamus RYDER

7- Wiremu PATRICK


8- Michael WHITE

13- Jackson MITCHELL

9- Patrick FLEMING

14- Sam MEPHAM

10- Dakota LUCAS*

15- Darren OVERTON

11- Tyson HOLMES

18- Harley RODEKA


21- Michael CUNNINGHAM

13- Karl WHALEN

22- Peter EVANS


23- Joel STEVENS

17- Ryan CAIN

27- Tom CONNOR

18- Michael FIIFI

21- Liam HIGGINS

22- Justin GULLEY

23- Louis FENTON

24- Daniel CLARKE

25- Scott BASALAJ (GK)

- Five to be omitted.

* - transfer pending.