ASB Premiership Standings

Grand Final


Sun 16 Mar, 2.35pm, 2014
Kiwitea St, Sandringham

2013/14 ASBP Media Guide

2013/14 ASBP Draw

Round 1 - Waitakere v Hawke's Bay

Squad List

Hawke's Bay aim for top positions - Chandler

By Bob Pearce / 

AUCKLAND - Hawke's Bay United coach Matt Chandler describes his team as the “dark horses” of the ASB premiership and he’s not just talking about making the playoffs for the first time.

Hawke's Bay celebrate a goal as coach Matt Chandler watches on/ Image courtesy Photosport

As he made final preparations for the opening game against champions Waitakere United at Fred Taylor Park on Saturday, Chandler reflected on a successful pre-season, which has brought three wins without conceding a goal, after some positive recruiting.

 “We’re up for it this season and we’re looking at one of the top positions,” he said. “It was tough to take last time when we didn’t make the playoffs. But I started recruiting and we’ve got a good mixture of experience and youth.”

 One of the key additions is the highly experienced former Manawatu player Adam Cowan, who joined the squad fresh from steering Wairarapa to the Chatham Cup. He was also targeted by Waitakere but the logistics of playing for the Bay from his Palmerston North home were more acceptable.

 “He has played at the back but he’ll be playing in the midfield for us. He’s already shown he knows where the goal is at both ends. He is the ultimate professional in an amateur game who leads by example to the younger players.”
Among the younger players are strikers Sam Margetts and Milos Nikolic from Waikato and 18-year-old Hamish Watson from Hutt, a prolific scorer in the Central League. They will make up for the loss of one of last season’s stars, Andy Bevin, who is already making an impression at the University of West Virginia in the United States.

Chandler has also snared two young English players, Connor Tinnion and Stephen Hindmarch, who were teenaged pros at Carlisle and had been playing for Western Suburbs in the Central League. Hindmarch, in particular, has already stood out as a real talent.

Fred Taylor Park should hold no fears for the Bay. Their ultimately unsuccessful late bid for the playoffs last season was sparked by a 2-1 victory at the West Auckland ground. This time they will be without captain Bill Robertson, who is serving a suspension from last season.
Waitakere come to the opening Premiership game six days after losing 3-2 to archrivals Auckland City in the ASB Charity Cup. Coach Neil Emblen had mixed feelings about that clash.
“In the first half Auckland were better but in the second we were more up and at ‘em. We were missing a couple of players up front and they’ll be back this weekend. I’ve tried to give everyone a chance in the pre-season, sharing it about a bit. But that has meant we’ve not been fluent enough.
“In Fiji we played Ba, who are in our group for the O-League, and won 3-0. It was much closer than that and could have gone either way but we got good experience from that. We lost 1-0 to Hawke's Bay at Taupo but I’d like to think we were understrength.” A blow to the team was the season-ending injury to Ryan Zoghby, recruited from Waikato.
Waitakere will have Roy Krishna and Ryan de Vries back in their strike force on Saturday and there should be a place, at least on the bench, for Gagame Feni, who has been impressive since coming north.
Hawke's Bay may have lofty ambitions but Waitakere have experience and the record to back Emblen’s promotion to the national coaching ranks. The Fred may not be quite the fortress it once was but the champions promise a tough battle for any visiting team.



Head to Head

Waitakere United

Hawke's Bay United


New signing Gagame FENI is in line for his Waitakere United debut following a move north from Canterbury United. The Solomon Islands forward is joined at the club by Ross McKENZIE, Mauri WASI, Jordan SWANEY, Bill TUILOMA, James DEBENHAM and goalkeeper Matt UPTON. 

The capture of former YoungHeart Manawatu and Wairarapa United player Adam COWAN is arguably the transfer of the off-season to date. COWAN made 121 appearances for Manawatu and won an ASB Chatham Cup winners medal with Wairarapa during the winter season. In another shrewd transfer swoop, coach Matt CHANDLER has also lured talented Waikato FC pair Alex BARLOW and Sam MARGETTS to the Bay.


Ryan ZOGHBY is missing following injury in a pre-season match in Fiji that keeps him sidelined for 4 months.

Striker Milos NIKOLIC is injured. 


Dakota LUCAS transfer to Team Wellington is still pending - while the club has released Ashton PETT, Luiz del MONTE, Mike GWYTHER, Jack PELTER, Keegan LINDERBOOM, Ash SOLLY and veteran Neil SYKES.

Bill ROBERTSON is suspended.

Vital Stats:

Waitakere United have won two, drawn one and lost one in their previous four meetings with Hawke’s Bay United and will eye their opponents with caution after last season’s 1-2 defeat at the same venue.

Hawke’s Bay United’s last visit to Fred Taylor Park produced a shock 2-1 win for the Matt Chandler-coached outfit thanks to a brace by striker Jarrod SMITH.


Squad List

 Waitakere United

ASB Premiership - Round 1
Fred Taylor Park, Whenaupai

Hawke's Bay United 

Saturday 22 October, 2011 
Kickoff: 2pm

1- Danny ROBINSON (GK)

1- Richard GILLESPIE (GK)

2- Jason ROWLEY

2- Fergus NEIL

3- Aaron SCOTT

3- Alex BARLOW

4- Tim MYERS


7- Martin BULLOCK

6- Stephen HINDMARSH

8- Chris BALE


10- Allan PEARCE

8- Adam COWAN

11- Ross McKENZIE



11- Connor TINNION

15- Gagame FENI


17- Jake BUTLER (c)

14- Danny WILSON

20- Ryan de VRIES


23- Jordan SWANEY

17- Tom BISS

24- Luke ADAMS

18- Hamish WATSON


19- Chris McIVOR

28- Andy RALPH (GK)


29- Jordan VALE

26- Shaun PETA (GK)