ASB Premiership Standings

Grand Final


Sun 16 Mar, 2.35pm, 2014
Kiwitea St, Sandringham

2013/14 ASBP Media Guide

2013/14 ASBP Draw

Week 11 - Waitakere v Auckland

Squad List

Emblen relaxed ahead of 'Super City' derby

By Bob Pearce / 

AUCKLAND - "Two games, two goals. A goal every 10 minutes. What's all the fuss about?" - Waitakere United player-coach Neil Emblen, fresh from a couple of brief but productive cameo appearances, can joke about missed chances.
Image courtesy Photosport
But he knows that his team will have to make the most of the chances they get when they play Auckland City in a 4pm ASB Premiership game at Fred Taylor Park on Sunday.
The Westies beat Otago United last week to keep their perfect record intact but, despite creating a host of chances, they needed a last-gasp conversion by Emblen for their 3-1 margin.
The cross-town rivals have met twice already with Waitakere winning the ASB Premiership game in Sandringham and sharing the points in an O-League fixture at The Fred.
"All the players know each other really well and the two clubs tend to raise the bar," said Emblen. "It's on the day who comes out on top. I thought they won more individual battles last time we met.

"We've got a lot of attacking-minded players but we need to take the chances we create. The defence has conceded only five goals in eight games, so we're harder to score against this year."

Emblen is still without Martin Bullock, Neil Sykes, Sean Lovemore and Luis Del Monte. But there were no new casualties.

Auckland City co-coach Aaron McFarland has ended his role with New Zealand Football to concentrate on the Kiwitea St job. He was pleased at the way his team played in the 2-1 victory in Christchurch last Sunday.

The win sees them in third place, more familiar territory than the mid-table mediocrity earlier in the season.
"I'm really pleased with the progression of games as the players adjust well to their roles on the pitch," said McFarland. "It's always an even game against Waitakere and it might come down to a couple of individual errors.
"The players put a lot of pressure on themselves. They've got a point to prove and there's a lot of pride. There's a big psychological boost for the winners."
The down side from that win in Christchurch was a two-yellow red card for new Spanish striker Manel Exposito, who will be suspended this game. As some compensation, Luis Corrales is due back from Costa Rica, where he has been home on holiday.
Nothing would please the fans at Kiwitea Street more than for their team to end Waitakere's season-long winning streak in the Premiership.

But they may be in suspense until the final whistle - "Beware the secret weapon sitting on the bench!"


Head to Head

Waitakere United

Auckland City





Luiz del MONTE (injured), Sean LOVEMORE (injured).

Manuel EXPOSITO (suspended)


Liam LITTLE (unavailable), Martin BULLOCK is one week away from his recovery from a medial ligament injury. Neil SYKES has two weeks on the sidelines with a calf injury.

World Cup All White Ivan VICELICH makes his first appearance in a 'Super City' derby since last yea's 1-1 draw at Fred Taylor Park when Chad COOMBES scored for the visitors.

Vital Stats:

Waitakere are the form side in the ‘Super City’ derby with five wins, a draw and one defeat in their previous seven regular season ASB Premiership showdowns with their cross town rivals. The last time Waitakere United lost at home to Auckland City was the 2008-09 Grand Final in which City prevailed 2-1.

You have to reach back to 2005-06 to register Auckland City’s last regular season ASB Premiership victory over Waitakere United in the ‘Super City’ derby. Auckland defeated Waitakere 2-1 in Round 21 to complete a hat-trick of derby wins en route to their second consecutive national title.


Squad List

 Waitakere United

ASB Premiership - Week 11
Fred Taylor Par, Whenuapai

Auckland City 

Sunday 16 January, 2011 
Kickoff: 4pm

1- Danny ROBINSON (GK)

1- Jacob SPOONLEY (GK)

2- Jason ROWLEY


3- Aaron SCOTT

3- Ian HOGG

4- Tim MYERS


6- Jack PELTER

6- Stu KELLY

8- Chris BALE


10- Allan PEARCE



11- Daniel KOPRIVCIC

13- Mike GWYTHER

12- Patrick GEORGE (GK)

16- Neil EMBLEN


17- Jake BUTLER


18- Zane SOLE

15- Ivan VICELICH (c)

19- Dakota LUCAS

17- Adam McGEORGE

23- Ashton PETT

19- Daniel MORGAN


22- Andrew MILNE

28- Andy RALPH (GK)

23- Adam THOMAS