ASB Premiership Standings

Grand Final


Sun 16 Mar, 2.35pm, 2014
Kiwitea St, Sandringham

2013/14 ASBP Media Guide

2013/14 ASBP Draw

Week 9 - Manawatu v Otago

Squad List

YoungHeart seek end of year boost

Nobu Ishi (left) will replace Adam Cowen in the YoungHeart squad. Photosport

By Kelvin Wescombe/ 

The quest for their first points in the ASB Premiership does not get any easier for YoungHeart Manawatu, as they host Waikato FC this Sunday at Memorial Park.

Coming off a streaking 3-0 win over Wellington Phoenix A last week, YoungHeart Manawatu proved they are a team that can produce the goods come game-day. However not capitalising on this momentum, with a loss against Auckland on the weekend still see them firmly placed at the bottom of the table.

Manawatu are also staring at a record that no coach wants to see their team beat; the most consecutive losses in a season. Manawatu are currently 0-6 in the ASB Premiership this season, and a loss this Sunday will see them equal their all-time losing streak which they set back in the 2007/2008 season.

Waikato FC sit only two places ahead of YoungHeart Manawatu on the Premiership table and are tied for second-to-last place with Otago on seven points. They are still prospects of making the playoffs, and a win will see them placed firmly in the middle of the pack going into 2011.

Waikato FC defender Nathan Strom will be unavailable due to suspension, after receiving his fourth yellow card for the season last week against Waitakere for an aggressive challenge. The defender is well known for his ability for his throwing range, which was evident last weekend when he hurled a floater into the box which set up a goal for Milos Nikolic.

YoungHeart Manawatu will be without their stalwart captain Adam Cowan due to work commitments, and will be replaced by midfielder Nobuyishi Ishi.  Cowan was impressive against Wellington Phoenix A, with his hard-nosed defence and also putting his name on the score sheet following a thundering shot from outside the box.

In a game where Manawatu are desperately seeking their first scalp of the Premiership season, Cowan will be a missed presence.

This game is the last of 2010 before all teams have a rest over the Christmas and New Year’s break. Psychologically, this win will be vital for Manawatu. Going into 2011 with points and their first win may kickstart their season, and after the Wellington Phoenix A game it is clear they have the ability. For Waikato, a win will see them well in the hunt for a playoff spot.

Kickoff is at 2pm at Memorial Park, Palmerston North


Head to Head

YoungHeart Manawatu

Waikato FC


Nobuyishi ISHI.

Mauri WASI and Sam MARGETTS return to the squad.


Work commitments keep captain Adam COWAN out of the squad.

Nathan STROM is suspended after reaching a tally of four yellow cards while promising young striker Eugene HEERSCHAP is unavailable.


David SAMSON and Alex BARLOW remain on the injury list

Vital Stats:

YoungHeart Manawatu are looking to avoid a club record run of consecutive losses set in the 07/08 season. Currently they are one loss shy of equalling that seven match streak. YoungHeart Manawatu enjoyed a six match winning streak over Waikato FC that spanned two seasons and saw Manawatu score 22 goals and concede just eight. YoungHeart's biggest win over Waikato FC prior to this season was a 6-1 away win in 2006. The biggest defeat to Waikato FC prior to this season was a 4-0 defeat at Waikato Stadium in 2004.

Waikato FC and YoungHeart Manawatu have played out two high scoring thrillers in the past with the visitors losing out by the odd goal on both occasions. The first was a 3-4 defeat in 2006. The second a 4-5 defeat in 2008.


Squad List

 YoungHeart Manawatu

ASB Premiership - Week 9
Memorial Park, Palmerston North

Waikato FC

Sunday 19 December, 2010
Kickoff: 2pm

1- Matt BORREN (GK)


2- Nobuyoshi ISHI

2- Maksim MANKO

3- Matt SMITH

6- Nick BRANCH

4- Colin FALVEY

7- Jason HICKS


8- Jason McKEOWN

7- Jason HAYNE

9- Mark JONES

8- Nathan COOKSLEY

10- Daniel PEAT

9- Michael WHITE

11- Nathan PALMER (C)

11- Hamish MacKAY

12- Jack BEGUELY

16- Michael FRASER


17- Brook TOZER

17- Milos NIKOLIC

18- Dale HIGHAM


19- Ben WILKES (GK)


20- Willie HODGE

22- Alex CARR (GK)

21- Jared BLOOR

23- Matteo BALLAN

25- Jono STEELE

24- Mauri WASI