ASB Premiership Standings

Grand Final


Sun 16 Mar, 2.35pm, 2014
Kiwitea St, Sandringham

2013/14 ASBP Media Guide

2013/14 ASBP Draw

Week 9 - Auckland v Hawke's Bay

Squad List

Nothing certain in Auckland-Bay rematch

Andy Bevin and Angel Berlanga clash during the week six clash at Park Island. Photosport

By Bob Pearce /

Whatever the score, chickens will definitely not be counted in either dressing room at halftime in the clash between Auckland City and Hawke’s Bay United at Kiwitea St on Saturday.

When the teams met in Napier, Auckland led 2-0 at halftime, but finished with nine men and a 2-2 draw. Hawke’s Bay led Team Wellington 2-0 at the break last weekend and lost the game 3-2.

"We played some of our best football of the season in the first half against Wellington," said Bay coach Matt Chandler. "We walked in to the changing rooms at halftime thinking we'd won and came back knowing we'd lost.

"It was a good lesson for everybody involved. We had a good team meeting this week and we've learnt from it."

What made the defeat particularly galling was that Hawke’s Bay have been enjoying their best start to a season and the loss ended a long unbeaten run.
One of the stars for the Bay has been teenager Andy Bevin, who already has five goals and a hat-trick to his credit. He will have half a game for the Phoenix A against Waitakere ahead of Saturday's clash.

Back in the Bay are Cole Peverley and Jarrod Smith and Chandler has recruited English twins Phil and Pete Doran. The experienced Leon Birnie has a foot injury and Dan O'Brien is recovering from having his appendix removed.

Auckland climbed back up the table with their 3-1 victory over YoungHeart Manawatu last Saturday and co-coach Aaron McFarland hopes this has given his players the added confidence to finish the host of chances they created.

"The circumstances of that first game with Hawke’s Bay mean the players have a point to prove," he said. "You could say we were seeking revenge for the loss of points.

"Hawke’s Bay have got some talented players and they will want to show that last time wasn't a fluke."

The two players sent off in Napier, Alex Feneridis and Ian Hogg, have served their suspensions but Luis Corrales is on holiday in Costa Rica. David Mulligan is not named in the squad but could yet return from injury.

Auckland looked a better side with Ivan Vicelich back from his Chinese stint and McFarland and co-coach Ramon Tribulietx have the luxury of a squad largely free of injury despite a tough early schedule, including O-League and ASB Premiership games.

Hawke’s Bay have yet to win at Kiwitea St. Recent history would suggest plenty of goals and fans would be well advised that it's not over until the last drum roll from the Bucket Man.


Head to Head

Auckland City

Hawke's Bay United


Ian HOGG and Alex FENERIDIS return from suspension earned against Hawke’ Bay three weeks ago.

Adam CHANDLER and Dan Ball are provisionally added to the match day squad and one of them or fellow academy member Ryan Martin will miss out of the final travelling squad.


Rory KELLY and Luis CORRALES make way while David MULLIGAN is still out with an ankle injury.

Matt HASTINGS dislocated his shoulder in the loss to Wellington and sits out until he fully recovers.


FENERIDIS scored both of Auckland’s goals in that 2-2 draw in Napier before being sent off.


Vital Stats:

Auckland City have never lost at home to Hawke’s Bay United, and have posted six straight wins over Hawke’s Bay at home since a lone draw in the 2004-05 season.

Hawke's Bay United went nine matches without a win over Auckland City, a run that began in 2004 and ended in 2008.


Squad List

 Auckland City

ASB Premiership - Week 9
Kiwitea Street, Auckland

Hawke's Bay United

Saturday 18 December, 2010
Kickoff: 2.30pm

1- Jacob SPOONLEY (GK)

1- Richard GILLESPIE (GK)


2- Phil DORAN

3- Ian HOGG

3- Marvin EAKINS



6- Stuart KELLY



12- Andy BEVIN

11- Daniel KOPRIVCIC

13- Dan WILSON

12- Patrick GEORGE (GK)

14- Marama THOMPSON


15- Joachim RANDE



15- Ivan VICELICH (c)

18- Jonathan TAYLOR (C)

16- Takayuki OMI

19- Dan BALL

17- Adam McGEORGE

20- Chris McIVOR

19- Daniel MORGAN

21- Peter DORAN

22- Andrew MILNE

22- Ryan Martin

23- Adam THOMAS

23- Jarrod SMITH

25- Shaun PETA (GK)

one to be omitted