ASB Premiership Standings

Grand Final


Sun 16 Mar, 2.35pm, 2014
Kiwitea St, Sandringham

2013/14 ASBP Media Guide

2013/14 ASBP Draw

Week 6 Waikato v Manawatu

Squad List

Waikato chase home win playoff boost

Waikato FC chase their first home win of the season on Saturday against Manawatu/image courtesy Photosport

By Ian Anderson / 

HAMILTON - Of the concerns Waikato FC coach Willy Gerdsen has ahead of Saturday's ASB Premiership match against Youngheart Manawatu, making it to the ground on time should be the least.

Gerdsen's troops have had travel problems on both of their away trips to date this season - to Dunedin and Wellington - resulting in delayed kickoffs.

But unless Manawatu are tardy for their 2pm kick-off at Fred Jones Park, Gerdsen and his charges should be free to concentrate on collecting their first three home points of their campaign.

Waikato have played just twice at their tidy new home venue - with only one of those being a league encounter. They opened their campaign what now seems like an eon ago when two stunning David Mulligan freekicks gave Auckland City a 3-2 victory, but the hosts did get their first home success recently when they beat the Wellington Phoenix A side 2-1 in the ASB Challenge.

In those two matches, plus a 1-0 away win over Otago United and in last weekend's somewhat unfortunate 3-1 defeat by Team Wellington in the capital, Waikato have shown enough to indicate that they could be genuine playoff contenders.

To push their case further however, a win on Saturday is a must against a visiting side yet to score a point or even find the net in three matches.

The hosts are likely to be short of full strength, with Joe Bresnahan suspended after being sent off last weekend while a number of players are under injury clouds, including skipper Daniel Peat and fullback Tewi Te Pou, while the home side also has a handful of long-term injury absentees.

Gerdsen has promoted Youth Academy duo Eugene Heerschap and Michael Kramer to the squad which will again be looking for standout performances from the likes of defender Nick Branch, midfielder Jason McKeown and the versatile Maksim Manko.

They should be too strong for the struggling Manawatu, who will rely heavily on two of the competition's most experienced performers to guide their young team-mates.

Captain Adam Cowan has made more appearances in the domestic competition since its inception than any other player while the well-travelled Jason Hayne is a regular goalscorer that the visitors will hope can break their early summer drought.


Head to Head

Waikato FC

YoungHeart Manawatu


Eugene HEERSCHAP and Michael KRAMER

Michael McKNIGHT


Joe BRESNAHAN (suspended), David SAMSON (injured), Alex BARLOW (broken leg)

Willie HODGE


Two Waikato FC players made their ASB Premiership debuts last week - Alexei DAVIES-CAMPBELL and Matteo BALLAN. Two players will be omitted from the final Match Day squad pending late fitness tests.

Jason HAYNE will make his 89th ASB Premiership career appearance, if selected. HAYNE has scored 29 goals and appeared for three other clubs - Auckland City, Waitakere United and Hawke's Bay United.

Vital Stats:

Its too close to call in matches between Waikato FC and Manawatu on home soil for the hosts with the last four encounters producing two wins each. Waikato FCs biggest home win was a 2-0 victory posted in 2008.

YoungHeart Manawatu posted a six match winning streak over Waikato FC over two seasons from 2005-2007. Their biggest ever win over Waikato FC was a 6-1 triumph in the Waikato in 2006.


Squad List

 Waikato FC

ASB Premiership - Week 6
Fred Jones Park, Hamilton

YoungHeart Manawatu 

Saturday 27 November, 2010 
Kickoff: 2pm


1- Matt BORREN (GK)

2- Maksim MANKO

2- Nobuyoshi ISHI

5- Nathan STROM

3- Matt SMITH

6- Nick BRANCH

4- Colin FALVEY

7- Jason HICKS


8- Jason McKEOWN


9- Mark JONES

7- Jason HAYNE

10- Daniel PEAT

8- Nathan COOKSLEY

11- Nathan PALMER (C)

9- Michael WHITE

12- Jack BEGUELY

10- Adam COWAN (C)

16- Tewi TE POU

11- Hamish MacKAY


14- Michael McKNIGHT


16- Michael FRASER

22- Alex CARR (GK)

18- Dale HIGHAM

23- Matteo BALLAN

19- Ben WILKES (GK)

24- Mauri WASI

21- Jared BLOOR

25- Eugene HEERSCHAP

26- Michael KRAMER

- Two to be omitted